The Taranaki region has a strong history of successful inward investment and innovation.

Read our case study stories about the featured sectors of energy, food, technology and innovation, manufacturing and engineering, the visitor industry, and property and infrastructure. These stories capture the innovators, the investors, and the interesting ways in which the region’s enterprises are leveraging investment to push the boundaries of their respective fields. Within each of these featured sectors there are many more opportunities for partnership and growth.  

New Plymouth District 

New Plymouth district spreads from Mōkau to Ōkato and includes the city of New Plymouth, the towns of Waitara, Inglewood, UrenuiŌkato, Bell Block and Ōakura, plus many other smaller rural communities. There is a diversity of strength in the district, particularly with food and drink production (Egmont Honey, Marcels, Ozone Coffee, InCafe Coffee, Juno Gin and Shining Peak), manufacturing and engineering facilities (McKechnie, DIALOG Fitzroy and Howard Wright), and energy centres (Hiringa Energy and Ara Ake). New Plymouth is also where you’ll find the academic and training facilities of Western Institute of Technology (WITT) and Pacific Institute of Hotel Management School (PIHMS). 

Stratford District 

At the heart of Taranaki, beneath the eastern slopes of Mount Taranaki, Stratford is the gateway to Taranaki Maunga, Egmont National Park (Te Papakura o Taranaki), and the Forgotten World Highway (State Highway 43). The Stratford Mountain House is the starting point for many of the iconic Taranaki trail walks: Kamahi Loop Track (Goblin Forest), Pouakai Circuit, Dawson Falls. Stratford also serves as a rural service town and is centrally located for big employers such as Fonterra, ANZCO and Silver Fern Farm in nearby Eltham and Hāwera. 

South Taranaki District 

South Taranaki is built on a rich farming heritage, which has, over time, transformed the region into the food production capital of Taranaki. South Taranaki is the location for Fonterra, ANZCO, Silver Fern Farms, Quinoa Co, Green Meadows Beef, Taranaki Bio Extracts, and Yarrows. The region is made up of many small communities and includes the towns of Hāwera, Manaia, ŌpunakePātea, and Waverley, many of which are located around the coastal tourist drive of Surf Highway 45 (State Highway 45). 

Ready to invest, or want to find out more?

  • Contact our investment team
Email an investment advisor